from freedom to knowledge


freedom1   freedom 1 freedom2 freedom3 freedom 4 Break-Through-From-Your-Mold-By-Zenos-Frudakis-Philadelphia-Pennsylvania-USA

I live in London and ideas of “self-mastery” and “you can be all that you wanna be” is less accepted in these territories than say across the pond.

Today, however, I am thinking about limitations, our own self-imposed shackles, golden handcuffs and what binds us within the moulds we set ourselves in and then say that this is my life.  I guess I am thinking about my own prison.

This morning I saw this picture of a sculpture and it moved me deeply.  It captured what I am currently feeling — the tearing away and the breaking from. Some days this feeling is more pronounced than others, more annoyingly persistent.  Some days I am less able to tolerate it.  And maybe this is a good thing despite how uncomfortable it feels.

The sculpture is one by Zenos Frudakis and is simply called ‘Freedom (from) to Knowledge’.

It depicts a human in four movements; extracting himself from the shackles of the exterior wall.

Sartre once said “Man is condemned to be free; because once thrown into the world, he is responsible for everything he does.  It is up to you to give [life] a meaning.”