a friend, is someone like you


image

I read this wonderful children’s poem a while back and had forgotten it. It is heartwarming and enchanting, like all poems for children (and bigger children) should be sometimes.

It talks about friendships not just with people or our pets but also with objects like a maple 🍁 tree, the wind, the leaves, a gurgling brook, a rock even. I love the word ‘brook’.

We form attachments not just to people but to these objects in our environment for a reason — some explainable but most remain unexplainable yet mysteriously special for a reason only you know.

Here is Joan’s poem:

A friend is someone who likes you.

It can be a boy…

It can be a girl…

Or a cat…

Or a dog…

Or even a white mouse.

A tree can be a different kind of a friend.

image

It doesn’t talk to you, but you know it likes you, because it gives you apples….

Or pears….

Or cherries….

Or sometimes a place to swing.

A brook can be a friend in a special way. It talks to you with splashy gurgles.

It cools your toes and lets you sit quietly beside it when you don’t feel like speaking.

The wind can be a friend too.
It sings soft songs to you at night
when you are sleepy and feeling lonely.

Sometimes it calls you to play.
It pushes you from behind
as you walk and makes
the leaves dance for you.

It is always with you

wherever you go,

and that’s how you know

it likes you.

A Friend is Someone Who Likes You,

~ Joan Walsh Angulnd, 1958

image

Published by

justme

I'm a woman living in London and this blog captures what lands within my sight and connects with my psyche. I expect it to evolve naturally. It is a place I shall visit from time to time and where things that I am touched by deeply will find a soft place to land. As a psychotherapist and a continuing student, most of the articles you shall find here will somehow, in some way, be related to therapy and well-being. I love comments, so feel free to add yours, whenever and however. I wish you well.

10 thoughts on “a friend, is someone like you”

      1. His four main works are ‘Where the sidewalk ends’, ‘Falling up’, ‘The Giving Tree’, and A Light In The Attic. All of which instilled in me my love of poetry. On of my personal favorite poems of his goes

        “Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.”

        So I hope you check him out and enjoy him.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve just read them all. They are so lovely. The giving tree made me sad for the tree though. Love the sidewalk ends and falling up along with light in the attic – meaningful poem about being on the outside looking in, or vice versa. Thank you for sharing these treasures with me. Much appreciated.

        Like

Leave a Reply

