liebster blog award


Hey Heidi Spitzig, thank you for the nomination! I am honoured… 🙂 Like you, I had to do a quick google to find out what the Liebster Blog Award was all about! Anyway, here are my answers in response to the questions you had asked:

liebster-blog-award-2

1. What made you decide to start blogging?
I don’t know really. I think blogging decided to start with me. We met on 22 December 2014 and so far it’s been going OK, so we shall see.

2. Have you ever had a moment where you felt connected to something greater than yourself? What did that moment entail?
Oh yes. No doubt about this one. There were two moments actually. OK maybe three. The first was when I was away on holiday in the lovely Lake District. I asked that we stop at Kirkstone Pass as I had to get out of the car. I just had this unexplainable urge to be outdoors in this beauty of a place. If you’ve been to the Lake District you will know what I mean. This place had a field of wildflowers and overgrown grass. There were cliffs nearby with sheep grazing. But it was wildflowers and the gentle, wind that slowed everything down for me. Time had no meaning, and I felt so connected to where I was, I never felt like that before. It felt like Home. Like I belonged. Like I had been away for so long and only now, returned. I had missed it but now I was Home. I felt so emotional. I never understood tears of joy before but I did then. I didn’t cry but there was a huge lump in my throat and a feeling like my lungs were going to explode with all that I felt within. I felt my heart roar and all that made me, me, was vibrating powerfully. I’ve never felt so alive. I could have laid there in the grass with the wildflowers and the vast sky above me. I could have laid there on my own and not felt alone or lonely. Because in that moment everything in my world was OK, I was OK, I was more than OK, I was at peace and ache-free. The second time was when I had a dream of my many younger selves, meeting all of them from age 3 to my then current self of 32. Now that was spectacular. Imagine saying hello to your little selves and calling them by your name! I won’t forget it. The third time was when I was ill with a severe chest infection and on antibiotics. I had a dream that night where I left my body. I felt myself shuttling through space at a speed of 1000 mph, I thought I’d wet myself but thankfully I didn’t! I remember travelling to this place, meeting someone and having the most honest dialogue ever. In that dream I was given the opportunity to ask about anything I wanted clarity on, but I didn’t. I didn’t, because when I was in the dream state, I had all the answers, and even not –knowing was OK. It was like what will be will and what I will need to know will be known. Forgive me the clichés, but these ones were true for me at that time. I felt like what is truly mine can never be lost and therefore I didn’t need to worry nor feel I needed to control the outcome. Of course when I awoke a few hours later I could have kicked myself! I wished I had asked some questions! But the feeling I was left with stays with me till today. The feeling of knowing that Life is in the Right, that Life is always in the right and we/I/you etc., none of us need to worry. Oh, and I was shuttling and traveling from my body, I remember seeing myself lying asleep on my bed as I was. Asleep oblivious to what was happening. That I had left my shell. That was surreal! I have always believed that I’m not my body but that state of being confirmed it. I now know I’m much more.

3. What is the number one item on your bucket list?
To ride a wild, strong, black horse, across the shore of a breath-taking beach and a vast shoreline that is met with crashing waves. To ride FAST. To ride WILD. To ride FAR and beyond.

horses4. Who is the person who has influenced you the most?
I can’t limit it to just the one as there have been many over the years, singers like Lauryn Hill, poets like Nayyirah Waheed, Rilke and Walcott, authors like Rohinton Mistry, friends who touch my soul and who say the things I need to hear at times. I find that I constantly meet or come across people/groups/individuals whom I need to be influenced by. The blog world is one fine example of this. When the student is ready and all that.

5. What is your favourite story to tell?
My many selves. The dream I had. That’s my favourite story ever!

Now is my turn to nominate! **rubs hands in glee** drum roll please……

The following are my nominees for this Award:

1) Indian drifter
2) More than Enough 
3) Amrit’s
4) hiccup
5) Carrie Hilgert
6) Brenda Marroy
7) Of life she writes

I’ll stick with seven as I like the number 7! I am choosing to ignore the amount of followers you should have as I think that’s irrelevant. I am nominating you because you write with an honesty, an openness and a freshness that makes sense and rings true for me. I am nominating you because you have in many ways said something that’s made me go hmmmmmm, I like that or yes, that makes sense. You may not realise this but your words have lifted me in my moments of despair or shed some light in some dark corner of my life; each and every one of you have made an impact on my life so I now reward you with this nomination! 🙂 I’m too kind I know.

My questions for you are as follows:

1) We write mainly for ourselves but we also write for an audience so my question is who do you write your blog for i.e. who are you speaking to when you write and why?
2) How well have you loved?
3) A song or story that speaks to you and the reasons why?
4) The last time you did something kind was?
5) How would you like to be remembered?

Of course you are under no obligation to answer even one of the questions but if you wanted to play, well then do….

Published by

justme

I'm a woman living in London and this blog captures what lands within my sight and connects with my psyche. I expect it to evolve naturally. It is a place I shall visit from time to time and where things that I am touched by deeply will find a soft place to land. As a psychotherapist and a continuing student, most of the articles you shall find here will somehow, in some way, be related to therapy and well-being. I love comments, so feel free to add yours, whenever and however. I wish you well.

20 thoughts on “liebster blog award”

  1. Wow!!! Lovely. It was fun reading your answers. 🙂
    You have chosen seven blogs and by reading why you have nominated us, I feel lucky that you feel this way for my blog.
    Now as I look to your questions and it engages my mind to think. Even though I have been nominated before, I would love to answer your questions. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am honored to be chosen by you, especially after reading the criteria you had for choosing. I am always looking for people to connect with who are on this journey, or who are longing for something more in life. You are a beautiful soul and I appreciate the honesty with which you write.
    I have been nominated before and usually don’t answer the questions, even though I am honored by the award. However, I am going to make an exception this time, because your questions are heartfelt and deserve to be answered. Thanks again for the honor. I am grateful.
    I will come back later and post my answers. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Brenda I had to stop reading at the point where you said beautiful soul and the honesty bit. It was that lump in the throat moment! A cyber hug. Overwhelming but good and much needed, so I humbly thank you for your kind words. Please don’t feel you need to respond to the nomination. Just got with what your heart feels moved to do. All my warmest wishes 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m baaaacccckkkk….
    Here are the answers to the questions:
    1. I’ve kept a journal since the early 80’s so writing has always been a big part of my life. In January, 2011, I started my blog because of a dream in which I was told I had to write because I had a message for these times and the guts to write it.
    I’d like to write about light, positive topics but my calling is to be a mover and a shaker and to write about the struggles of the soul, the harder things in life that plague us all but which few are wanting to talk about or hear. I write from my heart and from life’s experiences so my message is usually for those who have a seekers heart.

    2. I’m learning how to love as I practice total love for myself. The more I practice the easier it is to let flow compassion, love, and kindness. Unfortunately, I still fall into judgment of Self and others and still the flow of love, but I’m a work in progress and I’m seeing results as I learn to love well.

    3. Canon in D by Pachalbel is my favorite music. Though there are no words, the sounds of the melody, the crescendos, and the musical instruments always reduce me to tears and send my heart soaring. There is something about this music that stirs my soul.

    4. The last time I did something kind was about ten minutes ago when I stopped for a sacred pause and deep belly breaths. This kindness practice soothes my soul and fills me more kindness to pour onto others.

    5. I’d like to be remembered as a lover of souls and of glorious creator energy who made a difference on the planet by being present to life.

    Thanks again for the honor. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow. I love all that you’ve said. So wonderful. Thank you thank you thank you. Canon by pachalbel is my favourite music too! I often fantasise what I would be doing when it was playing in the background. And you know what, you have made a difference to the planet, namely planet 🌍 Amrit and for that I’d be eternally grateful. Brenda, your words of wisdom on self love, self compassion have been my greatest learning. It’s also been my hardest. So much easier to do it with others but so much harder when it comes to me. So I thank you for gracing my life with your graceful wisdom and love. May Love and Compassion be yours (and mine) and with others, always. I thank you deeply.

      Like

  4. Thank you so much for nominating ‘more than enough’ for the Leibster award. Technically I don’t qualify and after I did it once before I decided not to do the award thing anymore, and so I won’t nominate others. However, I very much appreciate your thinking of me and the kind words you wrote about why you made your choices. I get a lot of incoming blog posts and I can’t keep up with them but I always try to read yours because it is written so well and with wholehearted integrity. And so for you here is my attempt to address your questions.

    As you suggest I write at one level for myself, to encourage myself in the direction of simplicity and mindfulness, but yes, I do also have an audience in the back of my mind which is essentially people like you, people who have an interest in questions like; ‘how best should we to live’, ‘how can we be in heartfelt touch with others’; ‘how can we think about the divine’, because in this way we grow together.

    I have loved- I do love- and I also have felt that I have not loved well enough. I think this is the question we may ask on our deathbeds and I think it unlikely we will think ‘our I should have gone into the office more’ or “ I wish I had had a better car’ but ‘how well have I loved’. I know that the moments that I felt that I expressed love are my most cherished moments. I go on learning how best to love.

    I have been listening a lot recently to the music of John Tavener. I have been by history and trade a ‘wordy’ person but now I find music moves me more and Tavener’s work makes me feel I have touched the divine in some way, that I am listening to the beauty of the universe and a representation of the voice of God.

    I try to be kind all the time and while I know that I am not this is my aspiration. I don’t recall a specific recent kindness although I do try to smile at people I meet. Oh yes, yesterday I allowed my neighbor to use by bins for his garden rubbish ☺

    I would like to be remembered as someone who made mistakes but who tried to learn from them to become a ‘better’ person; some one who was kind and acted with integrity.

    best wishes

    Chris

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Chris for your kind words and for taking the time to write back. I appreciate it. Your comments, just like your blog, is full of insight and helpful gems. I always ensure I read your new posts because you’ve always got something valuable to share. I wish you a lifetime of love in all its many manifestations and kindness always. It’s been a pleasure meeting you and reading your blog. All my warmest wishes 😃

      Like

Leave a Reply

