barriers we build


I found this blog only moments ago (https://moodphototeija.wordpress.com) and her photo, the poem and caption, made me wonder.

The photo speaks of a certain vulnerability; a fragile like state of being that is almost impossible to sustain in this crazy world we live in. But I guess it mostly resonates and speaks to me because it’s what I’m thinking of at the moment so naturally the eyes see what the heart ♥ feels.

I am thinking about the barriers we build to protect ourselves, our own vulnerability, which only, in turn, serves to isolate and keep us locked up in our own man-made prison.

Yet, these barriers are there precisely because we have been hurt. They’re not there from birth, we weren’t born with it. No. They’ve been created, built brick by brick, from life and because of life and we have learnt to do this, I’m sad to say, from our fellow humans.

People cross our boundaries every day, in obvious and subtle ways. So the barriers are necessary, a needs must, and a way of self-preservation. They protect us from further harm, further damage to the already weary soul. They guarantee, to a point, that we are somewhat in control of potentially, more pain and heartache. And at times we need to do what we must, and not what we want, in order to survive another day.

I guess all we can possibly do as fallible humans, is hope that when the time comes to let these walls down (because that time WILL surely come this I know, don’t ask me how), that we know we can; and that we feel brave, and ready enough to do so with the ones who have always been waiting to Love us.

Here is what moodphototeija says in her blog:

Somehow I have lost the ability to tell how I feel, not in photography so much but otherwise… Too afraid to reveal my inner thoughts. Always bit afraid what others might think. Would they use something against me? Or would they like me less? And would it matter if they did? I have been too trustful too many times, for example to people who has been acting like my friends. And then they are just been using me for something, their own personal needs. It is hard pick up the pieces…but that`s what we do. Someone breaks our heart, and we still keep going. But sometimes we start to build up a wall around us, wanting to be out of reach of anyone to break us again. And then we are keeping the good people away from us too. The people who would be honest and caring.

“Well I’ve got a thick skin and an elastic heart
But your blade it might be too sharp
I’m like a rubber band until you pull too hard
But I may snap when I move close
But you won’t see me fall apart
Cause I’ve got an elastic heart
I’ve got an elastic heart
Yeah, I’ve got an elastic heart” – lyrics by Sia, Elastic Heart

You lost me.

Published by

justme

I'm a woman living in London and this blog captures what lands within my sight and connects with my psyche. I expect it to evolve naturally. It is a place I shall visit from time to time and where things that I am touched by deeply will find a soft place to land. As a psychotherapist and a continuing student, most of the articles you shall find here will somehow, in some way, be related to therapy and well-being. I love comments, so feel free to add yours, whenever and however. I wish you well.

2 thoughts on “barriers we build”

Leave a Reply

