silver linings playbook


image

I watched a wonderful film this Sunday afternoon (thanks to a recommendation from a friend).

After a stint in a mental institution, former teacher Pat Solitano moves back in with his parents and tries to reconcile with his ex-wife. Things get more challenging when Pat meets Tiffany, a mysterious girl with problems of her own.

I thought that Pat’s struggle with bipolar was dead-on accurate. But I also found myself thinking “Why couldn’t many have had it as easy as he does?”

Real mental illness is no motion picture. It’s an unrelenting and unforgiving fact of life. Believe that if you believe nothing else that I’m writing here.

The film however was spot on in many ways. It shows how ultimately love and support (and medication) are the only things that help. I loved the cast but mostly I loved how Jennifer Lawrence played her role. Her expressions and speech hold a special sense of intensity. I would recommend this feel-good film and leave you with many pics to pique your interest.

Be kind.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The only way you could meet my crazy was by doing something crazy yourself. Thank you. I love you. I knew it the minute I met you. I’m sorry it took so long for me to catch up. I just got stuck. – Pat.

Tiffany: I do this! Time after time after time! I do all this shit for other people! And then I wake up and I’m empty! I have nothing!

http://silverliningsplaybookmovie.com

Published by

justme

I'm a woman living in London and this blog captures what lands within my sight and connects with my psyche. I expect it to evolve naturally. It is a place I shall visit from time to time and where things that I am touched by deeply will find a soft place to land. As a psychotherapist and a continuing student, most of the articles you shall find here will somehow, in some way, be related to therapy and well-being. I love comments, so feel free to add yours, whenever and however. I wish you well.

Leave a Reply

