my love letter to london


image

My dearest London,

Our anniversary is coming up. Tell me what would you like sweetheart?

Another Eye? Or a clock tower?

How about another river that flows through you and your many nooks and crannies? As the wise philosopher Heraclitus once proclaimed, one can never step in the same river twice but you and I both know the Thames needs a respite from all who have muddied your waters. I’m sorry if I’ve added to it on many a boat ride I’ve taken to visit your sister, Cutty Sark.

image

I think we’ve been good to each other. We’ve had our falling out from time to time but show me which couple hasn’t.

You know our relationship is one that fluctuates from love to hate at any given moment in time. This can’t be helped. You can be so cold in your ways always wanting more from me, everytime. You take and take! But I’ll give you this — unlike previous lovers, you’ve not made me any promises. So no promises broken as none were made. And I must admit that in my more contemplative moments I do know you’ve given me a lot, well all that you can at least and for this, I shall always be grateful. We don’t talk about it much but I know that you know only too well that I left my previous lover KL, in the Far East, to be with you. And although there have been moments I’ve longed for my old love I know that I could never leave you. You mean too much for me to walk away. And I hope, in my own small, silly and many clumsy ways I’ve given you something back too?

image

So let me know my darling what you’d like for our anniversary. It’ll be 13 years soon and what a whirlwind of an affair we’ve had. I quietly look forward to more.

I ask only this — please be good and gentle to me like you know I will, to you.

All my love,
A xxx

image

Published by

justme

I'm a woman living in London and this blog captures what lands within my sight and connects with my psyche. I expect it to evolve naturally. It is a place I shall visit from time to time and where things that I am touched by deeply will find a soft place to land. As a psychotherapist and a continuing student, most of the articles you shall find here will somehow, in some way, be related to therapy and well-being. I love comments, so feel free to add yours, whenever and however. I wish you well.

Leave a Reply

