speak softly


speak softly

I am in a slightly more melancholic mood today; finding myself being pulled towards soft voices and dulcet tones and it got me thinking.

The tone of a person’s voice has tremendous power over us.

Sometimes it’s less what people say but more of how they say it. Words spoken from a place of intellect very rarely touches me inside, it only merely brushes off the surface of my psyche. I may be impressed with one’s intelligence but to really move me inside, well, now it’s not so much what you say but it is how you say what you say to me.

Have you ever heard Maya Angelou speak? If you haven’t, I would recommend that you do. Go to YouTube, type her name in and you’ll find out why I have urged you to do so. The minute she utters her first word, that’s it. You are under her spell. You are drawn to her for reasons you will find hard to explain. You yearn to hear her speak. You want her to keep going on and not stop. And when she does stop, you will miss her.

You see her voice has a direct transmission to your heart.

speak softly5It is a bit like when someone loves you, the way they say your name is different. I think it has something to do with where the words are coming from. If it is merely from the intellect then they leave one cold and dry. But if they come from the heart, they will most certainly touch another’s heart.

heart little
Nietzsche once said:

“the voice of beauty speaks softly; it creeps only into the most fully awakened souls”

And I think if he and I were taking a stroll in a park on this wonderful crisp winter morning in London I may be tempted to agree with him.

So how do you speak to others and how do you speak to the ones you say you love?

Rumi gently reminds us that:

“there is a voice that doesn’t use words. Listen”

speak softly6

So imagine Rumi is sitting with you right now in a lovely room filled with beautiful burnt-orange cushions and dark plush deep-red carpets; you’re sharing a pot of steaming hot masala chai, how well will you listen and what will you hear, not with your ears but with your heart?

I think I may have an inkling to what Rumi is referring to. I would love to ask him myself (hey I’d love to be in a room filled with burnt-orange cushions and plush deep-red carpets!) but for now, I think I will need to be content in finding it out for myself.

Have a softly spoken weekend and may it be gentle, kind and peaceful.

And listen to a voice that speaks without words.


Published by

justme

I'm a woman living in London and this blog captures what lands within my sight and connects with my psyche. I expect it to evolve naturally. It is a place I shall visit from time to time and where things that I am touched by deeply will find a soft place to land. As a psychotherapist and a continuing student, most of the articles you shall find here will somehow, in some way, be related to therapy and well-being. I love comments, so feel free to add yours, whenever and however. I wish you well.

7 thoughts on “speak softly”

  1. This is a lovely post and I must say I have enjoyed your beautiful writing which stands out amid the outpourings in the blogosphere. On a wider note, not nly do I agree about voices, but about sound in general which I find to be a wonderful aspect of meditation.It seems to be that we want and need to atune to the vibrations of the universe and of love (if that doesnt sound a bit too off the wall) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chris your words to me mean a lot. I am enjoying the writing process but what I love equally is the contact and connection with others in the blogosphere! I write when I feel moved to do so and always from that place within.

      Like

  2. I’d been thinking on this very topic lately, and here I find you summarize it so beautifully. There are so many filters we sift through to be able to hear what another person is saying. I’m so sensitive, I pick up on many subtleties in another person’s way of expressing him/herself. I have to be mindful not to personalize tones, body language, etc. so I don’t get carried away in my own reactions. Then I can understand that person better, which brings about compassion and kinder interactions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heidispitzig thank you for your insightful comments. I think I can understand what you mean by filters and the ability to discern what’s your stuff and what belongs to another. When I was studying I learnt that it is important to know where you end, and when the other person begins. It’s an easier said task! Yet I think it’s an important one to hold on to. Thank you for that reminder! I also believe that often those who are sensitive tend to pick up a lot that is left unsaid, many of which can be true (or not).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

