salt


salt7I recently stumbled upon salt.  Not the kind you flavour your food with, but “salt”, in terms of poetry.

The artist who writes these beautifully raw and soul-stirring poems is known as Nayyirah Waheed.

If you haven’t already, I strongly urge you to look her up and her writings. They are indeed one of a kind and truly beautiful.  She writes from such an honest place and is unapologetic about what she says and I admire that greatly.  When I first read her work, something in me slowed down, in fact my world slowed down; and if it is possible for the heart’s beat to pause between beats, then mine certainly did.

I think when a piece of writing stays with you; sort of attaches itself on your psyche, your soul or your heart as such; you know it’s a good piece of work!

You can’t seem to shake it off for you were not meant to. And Nayyirah’s poems do just this.

When you look at her book you’ll notice the empty spaces and the sparse sentences.  Most of her poems are short but I think that this is intentional.  The empty spaces, like the spaces in our own lives, are there for a reason.  It is there to help us pause, to reflect.  It allows the reader the time to process what has just transpired and what continues to transpire within.  The words need this space.  And you the reader will need it too once you’ve read it.

Here are a few snippets of what Nayyirah beautifully offers.  I’ve selected the ones that closely relate to love, both of self and of the other.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I have.

salt1

salt2

salt3

salt4

salt5

salt. is a journey through warmth and sharpness. this collection of poetry explores the realities of multiple identities, language, diasporic life & pain, the self, community, healing, celebration, and love. 

http://www.nayyirahwaheed.com/

Published by

justme

I'm a woman living in London and this blog captures what lands within my sight and connects with my psyche. I expect it to evolve naturally. It is a place I shall visit from time to time and where things that I am touched by deeply will find a soft place to land. As a psychotherapist and a continuing student, most of the articles you shall find here will somehow, in some way, be related to therapy and well-being. I love comments, so feel free to add yours, whenever and however. I wish you well.

Leave a Reply

