headspace


headspace carrie

Carrie Hilgert captures darkness beautifully as she always does. Her recent post, entitled headspace is as follows:

I’m going to share a truth with you: you can create when you don’t feel like it. During stress, depression, when you feel empty, when you feel intimidated. You can do it. I know this because I do it. I’m a person who really, really doesn’t like to do things when I don’t feel like it. Dishes in the sink? I don’t want to right now. Laundry piling up in the baskets after washing? I don’t feel like that either. It can wait. Making myself do things when I don’t feel like it feels like the most unnatural force ever. Like shoving my circular body into a box shaped like a triangle. Like sweating blood through the tiniest of pores. I don’t remember when I started to push the art when I didn’t feel like it. Maybe in 2011 when I was in the darkest time of my depression and my friend told me to keep going, to keep photographing. Even if it was dark. Even if no one saw it.

I then posed a comment on her website saying this:

Great article Carrie. I agree with almost all of what you say but a lot of people don’t want to see/hear the ‘dark’ stuff either because they don’t want to know because of their own darkness or there’s too much of it already all around. To give voice to darkness is oh so very exposing and that is probably my biggest hurdle, i.e. how much of ‘me’ do I share with others, and more so, with those I know? How much of it is better kept just with me?

Published by

justme

I'm a woman living in London and this blog captures what lands within my sight and connects with my psyche. I expect it to evolve naturally. It is a place I shall visit from time to time and where things that I am touched by deeply will find a soft place to land. As a psychotherapist and a continuing student, most of the articles you shall find here will somehow, in some way, be related to therapy and well-being. I love comments, so feel free to add yours, whenever and however. I wish you well.

Leave a Reply

