paintings that move you within, and out


wpid-wp-1422286713210.jpeg

This weekend just gone reminded me of the simple soul-stirring pleasures art 🎨 and just moving the body outdoors in the park, can offer. Nature can be an amazing balm to one’s weary soul. I will write more about this later, but for now I would like to share these beautiful and mind-bending illusions just to stir your own inner artist within. They were shared by a friend on Facebook and I’d like to share them with you, here.

The paintings were created by Canadian artist, Robert Gonsalves. When you look at his work they have a surreal way of twisting your perception and causing you to question what in his paintings, if anything, is real.

Most of his stunning paintings have an unclear boundary between the multiple stories they tell, which forces the viewer to jump back and forth between them – like an optical illusion that changes every time you look at it.

Gonsalves’ interest in art began at an early age, which is why he became comfortable with painting such complex misdirections. He had experience with technique and perspective and architectural art by the age of 12. When he encountered Salvador Dali and Rene Magritte, they clearly left a lasting impact on his amazing paintings as well.

Take a look and tell me which one/s you like the most (and why).

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

More info: Facebook (h/t: Vaalkor)

Published by

justme

I'm a woman living in London and this blog captures what lands within my sight and connects with my psyche. I expect it to evolve naturally. It is a place I shall visit from time to time and where things that I am touched by deeply will find a soft place to land. As a psychotherapist and a continuing student, most of the articles you shall find here will somehow, in some way, be related to therapy and well-being. I love comments, so feel free to add yours, whenever and however. I wish you well.

11 thoughts on “paintings that move you within, and out”

  1. all are strong! incredibly so! i think the waterfall cascading revealing dancers strikes me the most at this time. perhaps because i’m painting waterfalls myself this past week. thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey thanks for your feedback Namesi. They are all stunning and I wished I could paint as beautifully! Alas, I still struggle with getting a drawing of a cat 😻 right! I agree with you, the dancers streaming from the waterfalls is incredibly breath taking. Its one of my favourites. Good luck with your work!

      Like

      1. for me, some of the most moving memories i have is sitting beside a river at night. it was peaceful, without fear. it was moving in an indescribable way. the nocturnal energy, the colours of night, especially with the light of the moon angled on the water, on leaves, on rocks. there was the sense of a life going on that i sometimes forget in the strain and challenges of living, a life going on even when i’m not there, in the four walls of my home. that woman with the lantern seems to me a personification of some aspect of that life, existing even though i or we may not realise but may sense without knowing exactly or being able to articulate exactly what that sense is.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Beautifully articulated. Thanks so much for sharing. I think in the course of my lifetime I’ve caught glimpses of that emotion/energy you speak of. And I agree, it is indescribable. But you never forget it for it has moved you in ways you cannot comprehend, only feel. For me when that has happened I feel a strong calling home. Not the kind of home 🏡 with four walls but the one I completely belong in.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

