with gratitude


girl cloud swing

“you do not need others to agree with your heartbeat. to live. so then. you do not need others approval to be your own.”- nayyirah waheed

Yesterday marked one exact month since I started blogging and I want to say thank you to all of you who have supported me.  Just looking at my ‘community’ list on the left of this page makes me smile as it’s grown in such a short time — long may it last!

I’ve enjoyed connecting with ALL of you but there are special tributes to be made to special individuals.  This feels a bit like one of them speeches made at the National Television Awards!  But I’m not on BBC or ITV or MTV for that matter.  I’m just here on the worldwide web instead. Anyway apologies in advance if it sounds like ‘one of them’ speeches.

It is just important to me to acknowledge kindness when I see it.

I’ve received wonderful support from friends, colleagues (and even my Mum) BUT there have also been many others, people I have never met in person, who have touched me with their support here on my blog.

So I want to say a special thanks to blogger Indian Drifter indian drifter 
indiandrifter.wordpress.com for all your wonderful comments and thoughts (and your friendship).

To Kindness Blog kindnessblog
kindnessblog.com for being my first ‘like’ on my very first post, thank you very much.

You always remember your ‘first’ of everything and the supportive gestures are always remembered fondly.

Yesterday I got sent this by someone else in relation to my post ‘the greatest person ever’:

Keep writing your blog – you are a wonderful writer and I love your observations on life. Don’t know if you have read the book or seen the film ‘PS I Love you’ – but it is written along the same lines and in the format of your blog. Rather than observations on life it follows certain trends and a very unusual and personal story, which ironically enough is about the wishes and love of a guy who died, for the love of his life after he had passed away. Read it, there is no reason that in the fullness of time you couldn’t convert your own musings and story into a book/film. Bon chance!

I have read your blog and enjoyed it greatly. Perhaps you could add that to your obituary? In the meantime I would quote: “If winter comes, can spring be far behind?”

It is lovely comments like this, from such wonderful people, that inspire people like me. 

It also left me thinking how good validation can feel regardless of what we tell ourselves i.e. that we don’t need it because we know who we are, we are strong in ourselves, I know who I am and that’s all that matters! 🙂

I’ve discovered that as much as blogs are created because of what we need to say and what feel we must, they are also about connecting with the wider world around us; with other souls and kindred spirits. It is not something done in isolation for that would not work, not for me, at least.  I feel that we do need encouragement and support from time to time, so I am deeply grateful to you, for yours.

I can honestly say that I now have someone listening to my “something to tell”.

Have a peaceful (and wild) weekend and as always, be kind to yourselves.

peace of

Published by

justme

I'm a woman living in London and this blog captures what lands within my sight and connects with my psyche. I expect it to evolve naturally. It is a place I shall visit from time to time and where things that I am touched by deeply will find a soft place to land. As a psychotherapist and a continuing student, most of the articles you shall find here will somehow, in some way, be related to therapy and well-being. I love comments, so feel free to add yours, whenever and however. I wish you well.

2 thoughts on “with gratitude”

Leave a Reply

