how far have you walked


image

How far have you walked for men who’ve never held your feet in their laps? How often have you bartered with bone, only to sell yourself short? Why do you find the unavailable so alluring? Where did it begin? What went wrong? And who made you feel so worthless? If they wanted you, wouldn’t they have chosen you? All this time, you were begging for love silently, thinking they couldn’t hear you, but they smelt it on you, you must have known that they could taste the desperate on your skin? And what about the others that would do anything for you, why did you make them love you until you could not stand it? How are you both of these women, both flighty and needful? Where did you learn this, to want what does not want you? Where did you learn this, to leave those that want to stay?

Published by

justme

I'm a woman living in London and this blog captures what lands within my sight and connects with my psyche. I expect it to evolve naturally. It is a place I shall visit from time to time and where things that I am touched by deeply will find a soft place to land. As a psychotherapist and a continuing student, most of the articles you shall find here will somehow, in some way, be related to therapy and well-being. I love comments, so feel free to add yours, whenever and however. I wish you well.

5 thoughts on “how far have you walked”

  1. I learned this in my childhood. The men in my family were unavailable to me emotionally so I learned to be drawn to men who were unavailable. I was familiar with not being seen, heard, or made to feel like I mattered. I did not know what to do with a man who saw me and wanted to be there for me…he was an alien and I could not relate.
    Good questions to ask. I know my answers only because I’ve been on a soul healing,evolving journey for a few years. Bless you for bringing this to the surface. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Brenda for being so open and honest. I can relate to your experience. A painful one no doubt. Could I ask, please, if things did change that the unavailable became available and you were able to see it and accept it?

      Like

Leave a comment